Although being stuck with a lemon car in California can be frustrating, it is important that you stay calm and keep good records of all details. The rules and regulations that surround California defective vehicles have to be followed if you wish to be compensated for your car troubles.
A vital component for surviving a California lemon vehicle and getting compensated for your troubles, is keeping good records of repair efforts made on your vehicle. Here are a couple of key things to remember when documenting repair efforts:
• List specific problems for each repair attempt
• Include the dates that the vehicle is sent in for repair and when it is returned
• Get a copy of the mechanic’s repair assessment for each repair attempt
In California, a vehicle is presumed to be a lemon if:
• There are at least two safety (and four non-safety) related repairs in the first 18 months or 18,000 miles of ownership or at least 30 days in service to repair these defects in the same period of time.
If you have any questions of concerns about the California lemon law, please contact the Law Offices of Howard D. Silver. Call (855) 341-2611 for a free consultation with a skilled California lemon law attorney.